Skip to content
May 26, 2012 / Katy Green

Keep Right On

The people who know me well are probably aware I am a big football fan and have been ever since I was 10 and swapped ballet shoes for Nike Vapours. The most proud moments I have ever experienced have been in the blue of Birmingham City. Signing for them at 12 and coming up through the Centre of Excellence, progressing to the Reserves and eventually the 1st team. Memories that stick in my head most are sitting in Thierry’s seat on Arsenal’s posh coach, inadvertently scoring from the half way line, playing at Leicester’s Walkers stadium, winning the Reserve league title, playing for the 1st team in the FA Cup against Derby, scoring the winning goal in the county cup semi final against Coventry in the 90th minute, winning the county cup final and finally playing against the premier league’s best teams: Everton, Chelsea and Arsenal (at the men’s training ground!).

Since then, I have dabbled in a few teams but haven’t quite rekindled my love for playing. So, at the tender age of 19 I decided to retire. Maybe not forever, but for the time being while I slog my guts out trying to pass a physiotherapy degree.

Today, I added another proud moment to my list. This time I wasn’t on the pitch, but in the stands watching my beloved Birmingham City win the women’s FA Cup for the first time in their history! Having seen the club survive against all odds with basically no money, it was almost unbelievable that they were playing live on Sky Sports and lifting the FA cup. I have had the pleasure of playing alongside some of the players out there today and was coached for a fair few years by the captain Laura Bassett. So it was great to see her especially, lifting the prestigious trophy.

Typically, Blues did not do it the easy way. They came from behind twice, scoring equalisers to take it to extra time and then forcing penalties. I feared the worst, but they held their nerve to win on penalties. I may not be part of the club any longer but I could not have felt more proud. An absolutely fantastic achievement for the club and hopefully this is just the start of the silverware to come this season.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

