Skip to content
April 14, 2012 / Katy Green

We always take care of our own

Out of nothing, this week has been one of the best I’ve had for a long time.

It was never supposed to be. My family had gone to Cornwall on holiday while I stayed at home and basically lamented the choice to study physiotherapy. However, this was soon to be pushed to the back of my mind for a whole multitude of reasons.

Firstly, you may or may not have read my previous post on the ending of Hustle and how iplayer carelessly spoiled it.I tweeted the post to cast members Matt DiAngelo and Adrian Lester who both read it and tweeted me back. Extremely exciting in itself. However, I also got a tweet from fellow Brummie Mark Wilson (@Sparks68), a big Hustle fan and extra who appeared in the final Hustle episode. It is worth noting before I go any further, that this guy is essentially a stranger to me! However, out of sheer unbelievable kindness, he said he would send me a souvenir from the last ever episode! So I excitably checked the post for the next 5 days (bloody Easter delaying my goodies). Barefoot and in mismatching pyjamas, I checked the post on Wednesday morning, where I found a single brown envelope with my name and address written in very neat handwriting. I ran back inside the house and tore open the envelope to find 2 fake £50 notes used in the episode and a joker playing card signed by cast members Adrian Lester (Mickey), Robert Glenister (Ash) and Kelly Adams (Emma). I would have been happy with just the £50 notes let alone having something signed by the cast! I was, obviously thrilled and am looking forward to having all of it framed, and for it to take pride of place along with my signed Derren Brown ticket! I have literally showed everyone and anyone, regardless of whether they’ve ever seen Hustle or not. My friend Lucy was particularly jealous, as she too has a bit of a soft spot for Adrian Lester and quite perfectly describes him as ‘the epitome of tall, dark and handsome’. So, a massive thank you to Mark for mementos I will treasure for many years to come.

My Hustle Goodies!

Money surrounds the bodies of Mickey and Emma. Potentially the scene where my 2 £50 notes came from.

So there’s the first reason for such a great week. The other reasons were based around fun, lovely quality time spent with my friends. On Monday, my friends Lou and Lucy came round to play Rayman on Wii, drink Irn Bru and eat snacks that wouldn’t have looked out of place at a kid’s birthday party in 1996. On Tuesday, my friend Lauren, who I don’t get to see often, came over to eat smoked salmon pasta, see 21 Jump Street and stay over. I highly recommend the film – sort of a cross between Superbad and Hot Fuzz. On Wednesday, my boyfriend Tom (http://citrussuckingsunshine.wordpress.com) came to stay en route from Crawley to Keele. We watched King of Queens, had nachos for dinner and drank wine in the hot tub. It was basically the most perfect 21 hours I’ve had in a long time. Thursday involved more shenanigans on the Wii, this time on Just Dance, where I realised I have a somewhat of a penchant for funk music.

On Friday, myself, Lou, Lucy and Justine went to see Rhod Gilbert at Birmingham Symphony Hall. After an eventful journey into town, we all enjoyed a brilliant gig by Rhod. It centered around a battenburg tattoo and an anger management diary, concluding with a montage of photos taken in New York with Rhod and a potato, with (my favourite ever song) ‘Wouldn’t It Be Nice’ by the Beach Boys playing in the background. If you are a fan of his and get a chance to see this tour, do go – it’s brilliant.

So all in all, what was meant to be a crappy week, turned out to be a great week.

And for you die hard fans of https://timetravellingbunnies.wordpress.com/ do not panic, I’m sure for my next post I’ll have ditched this soppy tone and found another random topic to rant about.

KG xxx

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Lou / May 3 2012 12:28 am

    🙂 love this. Miss you xxx

Leave a Reply

